Skip to content
ModelCap

Head-to-head comparison

gpt-oss-120b vs o4 Mini

gpt-oss-120b (OpenAI) and o4 Mini (OpenAI) compared on the ModelCap Index, API price, context window, provider availability, weight access and every public benchmark board they share. Figures are the same ones shown on the live rankings; nothing here is a hidden score.

Snapshot as of 6 November 2026

As of 6 November 2026, o4 Mini holds the stronger ModelCap Index position (#136 vs #164); gpt-oss-120b is 25× cheaper per output token ($0.088/1M vs $2.20/1M); o4 Mini offers the longer context window (200K vs 131K tokens); and gpt-oss-120b ships open weights.

Which should you choose?

Choose gpt-oss-120b if…

  • API cost matters — $0.088/1M output tokens against $2.20/1M, about 25× cheaper.
  • your workload is prompt-heavy — input tokens cost $0.024/1M against $0.55/1M.
  • you want to self-host: gpt-oss-120b ships open weights while o4 Mini is no linked weights.
  • you want provider choice — 22 listed API providers against 1.
  • you want the more recently listed model — gpt-oss-120b was listed 5 August 2025, o4 Mini 16 April 2025.

Choose o4 Mini if…

  • you want the stronger overall ModelCap Index position — #136 against #164 (49.0 vs 39.6 points).
  • you need the longer context window — 200K tokens against 131K.
  • Arena text is your yardstick — 1391 against 1352.
  • Arena coding is your yardstick — 1433 against 1389.
  • SWE-bench is your yardstick — 45.0% against 26.0%.

gpt-oss-120b vs o4 Mini: specs, pricing and context

Specification comparison of gpt-oss-120b and o4 Mini
Fieldgpt-oss-120bOpenAIo4 MiniOpenAI
ModelCap Index position#164#136
Index score39.649.0
EvidenceMeasuredMeasured
Input price / 1M tokens$0.024$0.55
Output price / 1M tokens$0.088$2.20
Context window131K tokens200K tokens
Declared route output cap66K100K
API providers listed221
Weight accessOpen weightsNo linked weights
Input modalitiesTextImage, Text, File
First listed5 August 202516 April 2025
PublisherOpenAIOpenAI

Evidence: 2 public benchmark observations across 2 boards · 3 public benchmark observations across 3 boards. Prices are the lowest listed API offer per million tokens observed on the OpenRouter catalogue.

Benchmark scores: gpt-oss-120b vs o4 Mini

Public benchmark boards where gpt-oss-120b or o4 Mini has a published result
Boardgpt-oss-120bo4 MiniLeads
Arena textArena (LMArena)13521347–1356Not reported13911387–1395Not reportedo4 Mini
Arena codingArena (LMArena)13891381–139714331426–1440o4 Mini
ARC-AGI-2ARC Prize Foundation—6.1%HighOnly one result
SWE-benchSWE-bench (Princeton / SWE-agent team)26.0%45.0%o4 Mini
BFCL V4UC Berkeley (Gorilla)—53.2Function callingOnly one result

Scores are the sources' own published figures for each model's best evaluated configuration; ModelCap never re-runs a benchmark.

Want a different pairing? Open the interactive comparison tool to swap either model for any current ranked language model.

gpt-oss-120b vs o4 Mini: common questions

Is gpt-oss-120b better than o4 Mini?

o4 Mini ranks higher on the ModelCap Index as of 6 November 2026: #136 against #164. That is a capability ranking built from public benchmark evidence with published uncertainty; whether it is "better" for you also depends on price, context and where you can run it. Their published uncertainty intervals overlap, so the rank difference alone does not establish a reliable capability advantage for your workload.

Is gpt-oss-120b cheaper than o4 Mini?

gpt-oss-120b is cheaper on output tokens: $0.088/1M against $2.20/1M. Input tokens are $0.024/1M for gpt-oss-120b and $0.55/1M for o4 Mini. Prices are the lowest listed API offer ModelCap observed, in USD per million tokens. For 1,000 requests with 2,000 input and 500 output tokens each (2M input + 0.5M output), the listed-rate estimate is $0.09 for gpt-oss-120b versus $2.20 for o4 Mini. gpt-oss-120b costs 95.8% less in this scenario. This excludes caching, batch discounts, prompt-length tiers, tool charges and retries; verify the selected endpoint before budgeting.

Which has the bigger context window, gpt-oss-120b or o4 Mini?

o4 Mini has the larger context window: 200K tokens against 131K. OpenRouter catalogue or provider-endpoint declaration. Limits can vary by provider and prompt length; a model-wide maximum has not been independently verified.

Which is better for coding, gpt-oss-120b or o4 Mini?

Arena coding: gpt-oss-120b 1389, o4 Mini 1433 — o4 Mini leads. SWE-bench: gpt-oss-120b 26.0%, o4 Mini 45.0% — o4 Mini leads.

Are gpt-oss-120b and o4 Mini open-weight models?

gpt-oss-120b: Open weights. o4 Mini: No linked weights. Open weights mean the checkpoint can be downloaded and self-hosted under its licence. A missing weight link does not identify every API or chat product that offers a model.

Where can I run gpt-oss-120b and o4 Mini?

ModelCap currently lists 22 API providers for gpt-oss-120b and 1 for o4 Mini, from the OpenRouter catalogue snapshot the site serves; each model page lists the providers and their prices.

How current is this gpt-oss-120b vs o4 Mini comparison?

Every figure and ModelCap Index position comes from the same published snapshot dated 6 November 2026. Publication and page updates happen separately; use the snapshot date shown on the page.

Explore further