Skip to content
ModelCap

Head-to-head comparison

GPT-4o (2024-08-06) vs o4 Mini

GPT-4o (2024-08-06) (OpenAI) and o4 Mini (OpenAI) compared on the ModelCap Index, API price, context window, provider availability, weight access and every public benchmark board they share. Figures are the same ones shown on the live rankings; nothing here is a hidden score.

Snapshot as of 18 October 2026

As of 18 October 2026, o4 Mini holds the stronger ModelCap Index position (#116 vs #185); o4 Mini is 2.3× cheaper per output token ($4.40/1M vs $10.00/1M); and o4 Mini offers the longer context window (200K vs 128K tokens).

Which should you choose?

Choose GPT-4o (2024-08-06) if…

  • you want provider choice — 2 listed API providers against 1.

Choose o4 Mini if…

  • you want the stronger overall ModelCap Index position — #116 against #185 (49.6 vs 36.8 points).
  • API cost matters — $4.40/1M output tokens against $10.00/1M, about 2.3× cheaper.
  • your workload is prompt-heavy — input tokens cost $1.10/1M against $2.50/1M.
  • you need the longer context window — 200K tokens against 128K.
  • Arena text is your yardstick — 1391 against 1336.
  • Arena coding is your yardstick — 1433 against 1360.
  • you want the more recently listed model — o4 Mini was listed 16 April 2025, GPT-4o (2024-08-06) 6 August 2024.

GPT-4o (2024-08-06) vs o4 Mini: specs, pricing and context

Specification comparison of GPT-4o (2024-08-06) and o4 Mini
FieldGPT-4o (2024-08-06)OpenAIo4 MiniOpenAI
ModelCap Index position#185#116
Index score36.849.6
EvidenceMeasuredMeasured
Input price / 1M tokens$2.50$1.10
Output price / 1M tokens$10.00$4.40
Context window128K tokens200K tokens
Declared route output cap16K100K
API providers listed21
Weight accessNo linked weightsNo linked weights
Input modalitiesText, Image, FileImage, Text, File
First listed6 August 202416 April 2025
PublisherOpenAIOpenAI

Evidence: 2 public benchmark observations across 2 boards · 3 public benchmark observations across 3 boards. Prices are the lowest listed API offer per million tokens observed on the OpenRouter catalogue.

Benchmark scores: GPT-4o (2024-08-06) vs o4 Mini

Public benchmark boards where GPT-4o (2024-08-06) or o4 Mini has a published result
BoardGPT-4o (2024-08-06)o4 MiniLeads
Arena textArena (LMArena)13361331–1340Not reported13911387–1395Not reportedo4 Mini
Arena codingArena (LMArena)13601352–136814331426–1440o4 Mini
ARC-AGI-2ARC Prize Foundation—6.1%HighOnly one result
SWE-benchSWE-bench (Princeton / SWE-agent team)—45.0%Only one result
BFCL V4UC Berkeley (Gorilla)—53.2Function callingOnly one result

Scores are the sources' own published figures for each model's best evaluated configuration; ModelCap never re-runs a benchmark.

Want a different pairing? Open the interactive comparison tool to swap either model for any current ranked language model.

GPT-4o (2024-08-06) vs o4 Mini: common questions

Is GPT-4o (2024-08-06) better than o4 Mini?

o4 Mini ranks higher on the ModelCap Index as of 18 October 2026: #116 against #185. That is a capability ranking built from public benchmark evidence with published uncertainty; whether it is "better" for you also depends on price, context and where you can run it. Their published uncertainty intervals do not overlap, but the aggregate Index does not predict performance on every task; compare the relevant benchmark configurations before choosing.

Is GPT-4o (2024-08-06) cheaper than o4 Mini?

o4 Mini is cheaper on output tokens: $4.40/1M against $10.00/1M. Input tokens are $2.50/1M for GPT-4o (2024-08-06) and $1.10/1M for o4 Mini. Prices are the lowest listed API offer ModelCap observed, in USD per million tokens. For 1,000 requests with 2,000 input and 500 output tokens each (2M input + 0.5M output), the listed-rate estimate is $10.00 for GPT-4o (2024-08-06) versus $4.40 for o4 Mini. o4 Mini costs 56.0% less in this scenario. This excludes caching, batch discounts, prompt-length tiers, tool charges and retries; verify the selected endpoint before budgeting.

Which has the bigger context window, GPT-4o (2024-08-06) or o4 Mini?

o4 Mini has the larger context window: 200K tokens against 128K. OpenRouter catalogue or provider-endpoint declaration. Limits can vary by provider and prompt length; a model-wide maximum has not been independently verified.

Which is better for coding, GPT-4o (2024-08-06) or o4 Mini?

Arena coding: GPT-4o (2024-08-06) 1360, o4 Mini 1433 — o4 Mini leads.

Are GPT-4o (2024-08-06) and o4 Mini open-weight models?

GPT-4o (2024-08-06): No linked weights. o4 Mini: No linked weights. Open weights mean the checkpoint can be downloaded and self-hosted under its licence. A missing weight link does not identify every API or chat product that offers a model.

Where can I run GPT-4o (2024-08-06) and o4 Mini?

ModelCap currently lists 2 API providers for GPT-4o (2024-08-06) and 1 for o4 Mini, from the OpenRouter catalogue snapshot the site serves; each model page lists the providers and their prices.

How current is this GPT-4o (2024-08-06) vs o4 Mini comparison?

Every figure and ModelCap Index position comes from the same published snapshot dated 18 October 2026. Publication and page updates happen separately; use the snapshot date shown on the page.

Explore further