Skip to content
ModelCap

Head-to-head comparison

GPT-4o (2024-08-06) vs o3

GPT-4o (2024-08-06) (OpenAI) and o3 (OpenAI) compared on the ModelCap Index, API price, context window, provider availability, weight access and every public benchmark board they share. Figures are the same ones shown on the live rankings; nothing here is a hidden score.

Snapshot as of 18 October 2026

As of 18 October 2026, o3 holds the stronger ModelCap Index position (#67 vs #185); o3 is 1.3× cheaper per output token ($8.00/1M vs $10.00/1M); and o3 offers the longer context window (200K vs 128K tokens).

Which should you choose?

Choose GPT-4o (2024-08-06) if…

  • you want provider choice — 2 listed API providers against 1.

Choose o3 if…

  • you want the stronger overall ModelCap Index position — #67 against #185 (61.5 vs 36.8 points).
  • API cost matters — $8.00/1M output tokens against $10.00/1M, about 1.3× cheaper.
  • your workload is prompt-heavy — input tokens cost $2.00/1M against $2.50/1M.
  • you need the longer context window — 200K tokens against 128K.
  • Arena text is your yardstick — 1432 against 1336.
  • Arena coding is your yardstick — 1460 against 1360.
  • you want the more recently listed model — o3 was listed 16 April 2025, GPT-4o (2024-08-06) 6 August 2024.

GPT-4o (2024-08-06) vs o3: specs, pricing and context

Specification comparison of GPT-4o (2024-08-06) and o3
FieldGPT-4o (2024-08-06)OpenAIo3OpenAI
ModelCap Index position#185#67
Index score36.861.5
EvidenceMeasuredMeasured
Input price / 1M tokens$2.50$2.00
Output price / 1M tokens$10.00$8.00
Context window128K tokens200K tokens
Declared route output cap16K100K
API providers listed21
Weight accessNo linked weightsNo linked weights
Input modalitiesText, Image, FileImage, Text, File
First listed6 August 202416 April 2025
PublisherOpenAIOpenAI

Evidence: 2 public benchmark observations across 2 boards · 3 public benchmark observations across 3 boards. Prices are the lowest listed API offer per million tokens observed on the OpenRouter catalogue.

Benchmark scores: GPT-4o (2024-08-06) vs o3

Public benchmark boards where GPT-4o (2024-08-06) or o3 has a published result
BoardGPT-4o (2024-08-06)o3Leads
Arena textArena (LMArena)13361331–1340Not reported14321428–1435Not reportedo3
Arena codingArena (LMArena)13601352–136814601454–1466o3
ARC-AGI-2ARC Prize Foundation—6.5%HighOnly one result
SWE-benchSWE-bench (Princeton / SWE-agent team)—58.4%Only one result
BFCL V4UC Berkeley (Gorilla)—63.1PromptOnly one result
AA τ²-Bench TelecomArtificial Analysis—80.7%ReasoningOnly one result
AA Humanity's Last ExamArtificial Analysis—20.1%ReasoningOnly one result

Scores are the sources' own published figures for each model's best evaluated configuration; ModelCap never re-runs a benchmark.

Want a different pairing? Open the interactive comparison tool to swap either model for any current ranked language model.

GPT-4o (2024-08-06) vs o3: common questions

Is GPT-4o (2024-08-06) better than o3?

o3 ranks higher on the ModelCap Index as of 18 October 2026: #67 against #185. That is a capability ranking built from public benchmark evidence with published uncertainty; whether it is "better" for you also depends on price, context and where you can run it. Their published uncertainty intervals do not overlap, but the aggregate Index does not predict performance on every task; compare the relevant benchmark configurations before choosing.

Is GPT-4o (2024-08-06) cheaper than o3?

o3 is cheaper on output tokens: $8.00/1M against $10.00/1M. Input tokens are $2.50/1M for GPT-4o (2024-08-06) and $2.00/1M for o3. Prices are the lowest listed API offer ModelCap observed, in USD per million tokens. For 1,000 requests with 2,000 input and 500 output tokens each (2M input + 0.5M output), the listed-rate estimate is $10.00 for GPT-4o (2024-08-06) versus $8.00 for o3. o3 costs 20.0% less in this scenario. This excludes caching, batch discounts, prompt-length tiers, tool charges and retries; verify the selected endpoint before budgeting.

Which has the bigger context window, GPT-4o (2024-08-06) or o3?

o3 has the larger context window: 200K tokens against 128K. OpenRouter catalogue or provider-endpoint declaration. Limits can vary by provider and prompt length; a model-wide maximum has not been independently verified.

Which is better for coding, GPT-4o (2024-08-06) or o3?

Arena coding: GPT-4o (2024-08-06) 1360, o3 1460 — o3 leads.

Are GPT-4o (2024-08-06) and o3 open-weight models?

GPT-4o (2024-08-06): No linked weights. o3: No linked weights. Open weights mean the checkpoint can be downloaded and self-hosted under its licence. A missing weight link does not identify every API or chat product that offers a model.

Where can I run GPT-4o (2024-08-06) and o3?

ModelCap currently lists 2 API providers for GPT-4o (2024-08-06) and 1 for o3, from the OpenRouter catalogue snapshot the site serves; each model page lists the providers and their prices.

How current is this GPT-4o (2024-08-06) vs o3 comparison?

Every figure and ModelCap Index position comes from the same published snapshot dated 18 October 2026. Publication and page updates happen separately; use the snapshot date shown on the page.

Explore further