Skip to content
ModelCap

Head-to-head comparison

gpt-oss-120b vs gpt-oss-20b

gpt-oss-120b (OpenAI) and gpt-oss-20b (OpenAI) compared on the ModelCap Index, API price, context window, provider availability, weight access and every public benchmark board they share. Figures are the same ones shown on the live rankings; nothing here is a hidden score.

Snapshot as of 7 November 2026

As of 7 November 2026, gpt-oss-120b holds the stronger ModelCap Index position (#164 vs #228); and gpt-oss-120b is 2.3× cheaper per output token ($0.057/1M vs $0.13/1M).

Which should you choose?

Choose gpt-oss-120b if…

  • you want the stronger overall ModelCap Index position — #164 against #228 (39.6 vs 31.6 points).
  • API cost matters — $0.057/1M output tokens against $0.13/1M, about 2.3× cheaper.
  • your workload is prompt-heavy — input tokens cost $0.015/1M against $0.03/1M.
  • you want provider choice — 22 listed API providers against 10.
  • Arena text is your yardstick — 1352 against 1317.
  • Arena coding is your yardstick — 1389 against 1368.
  • you want the more recently listed model — gpt-oss-120b was listed 5 August 2025, gpt-oss-20b 5 August 2025.

Choose gpt-oss-20b if…

  • ModelCap publishes no field on which gpt-oss-20b leads gpt-oss-120b for this pair.

gpt-oss-120b vs gpt-oss-20b: specs, pricing and context

Specification comparison of gpt-oss-120b and gpt-oss-20b
Fieldgpt-oss-120bOpenAIgpt-oss-20bOpenAI
ModelCap Index position#164#228
Index score39.631.6
EvidenceMeasuredMeasured
Input price / 1M tokens$0.015$0.03
Output price / 1M tokens$0.057$0.13
Context window131K tokens131K tokens
Declared route output cap66K118K
API providers listed2210
Weight accessOpen weightsOpen weights
Input modalitiesTextText
First listed5 August 20255 August 2025
PublisherOpenAIOpenAI

Evidence: 2 public benchmark observations across 2 boards · 2 public benchmark observations across 2 boards. Prices are the lowest listed API offer per million tokens observed on the OpenRouter catalogue.

Benchmark scores: gpt-oss-120b vs gpt-oss-20b

Public benchmark boards where gpt-oss-120b or gpt-oss-20b has a published result
Boardgpt-oss-120bgpt-oss-20bLeads
Arena textArena (LMArena)13521347–1356Not reported13171311–1324Not reportedgpt-oss-120b
Arena codingArena (LMArena)13891381–139713681355–1381gpt-oss-120b
SWE-benchSWE-bench (Princeton / SWE-agent team)26.0%—Only one result

Scores are the sources' own published figures for each model's best evaluated configuration; ModelCap never re-runs a benchmark.

Want a different pairing? Open the interactive comparison tool to swap either model for any current ranked language model.

gpt-oss-120b vs gpt-oss-20b: common questions

Is gpt-oss-120b better than gpt-oss-20b?

gpt-oss-120b ranks higher on the ModelCap Index as of 7 November 2026: #164 against #228. That is a capability ranking built from public benchmark evidence with published uncertainty; whether it is "better" for you also depends on price, context and where you can run it. Their published uncertainty intervals overlap, so the rank difference alone does not establish a reliable capability advantage for your workload.

Is gpt-oss-120b cheaper than gpt-oss-20b?

gpt-oss-120b is cheaper on output tokens: $0.057/1M against $0.13/1M. Input tokens are $0.015/1M for gpt-oss-120b and $0.03/1M for gpt-oss-20b. Prices are the lowest listed API offer ModelCap observed, in USD per million tokens. For 1,000 requests with 2,000 input and 500 output tokens each (2M input + 0.5M output), the listed-rate estimate is $0.06 for gpt-oss-120b versus $0.13 for gpt-oss-20b. gpt-oss-120b costs 53.2% less in this scenario. This excludes caching, batch discounts, prompt-length tiers, tool charges and retries; verify the selected endpoint before budgeting.

Which has the bigger context window, gpt-oss-120b or gpt-oss-20b?

Both publish a 131K-token context window. OpenRouter catalogue or provider-endpoint declaration. Limits can vary by provider and prompt length; a model-wide maximum has not been independently verified.

Which is better for coding, gpt-oss-120b or gpt-oss-20b?

Arena coding: gpt-oss-120b 1389, gpt-oss-20b 1368 — gpt-oss-120b leads.

Are gpt-oss-120b and gpt-oss-20b open-weight models?

gpt-oss-120b: Open weights. gpt-oss-20b: Open weights. Open weights mean the checkpoint can be downloaded and self-hosted under its licence. A missing weight link does not identify every API or chat product that offers a model.

Where can I run gpt-oss-120b and gpt-oss-20b?

ModelCap currently lists 22 API providers for gpt-oss-120b and 10 for gpt-oss-20b, from the OpenRouter catalogue snapshot the site serves; each model page lists the providers and their prices.

How current is this gpt-oss-120b vs gpt-oss-20b comparison?

Every figure and ModelCap Index position comes from the same published snapshot dated 7 November 2026. Publication and page updates happen separately; use the snapshot date shown on the page.

Explore further