Skip to content
ModelCap

Head-to-head comparison

Qwen2.5 72B Instruct vs Qwen3.7 Plus

Qwen2.5 72B Instruct (Qwen) and Qwen3.7 Plus (Qwen) compared on the ModelCap Index, API price, context window, provider availability, weight access and every public benchmark board they share. Figures are the same ones shown on the live rankings; nothing here is a hidden score.

Snapshot as of 6 November 2026

As of 6 November 2026, Qwen3.7 Plus holds the stronger ModelCap Index position (#36 vs #249); Qwen2.5 72B Instruct is 3.2× cheaper per output token ($0.40/1M vs $1.28/1M); and Qwen3.7 Plus offers the longer context window (1M vs 33K tokens).

Which should you choose?

Choose Qwen2.5 72B Instruct if…

  • API cost matters — $0.40/1M output tokens against $1.28/1M, about 3.2× cheaper.

Choose Qwen3.7 Plus if…

  • you want the stronger overall ModelCap Index position — #36 against #249 (72.3 vs 27.6 points).
  • your workload is prompt-heavy — input tokens cost $0.32/1M against $0.36/1M.
  • you need the longer context window — 1M tokens against 33K.
  • Arena text is your yardstick — 1456 against 1303.
  • Arena coding is your yardstick — 1500 against 1355.
  • you want the more recently listed model — Qwen3.7 Plus was listed 3 June 2026, Qwen2.5 72B Instruct 19 September 2024.

Qwen2.5 72B Instruct vs Qwen3.7 Plus: specs, pricing and context

Specification comparison of Qwen2.5 72B Instruct and Qwen3.7 Plus
FieldQwen2.5 72B InstructQwenQwen3.7 PlusQwen
ModelCap Index position#249#36
Index score27.672.3
EvidenceMeasuredMeasured
Input price / 1M tokens$0.36$0.32
Output price / 1M tokens$0.40$1.28
Context window33K tokens1M tokens
Declared route output cap16K131K
API providers listed11
Weight accessRestricted licenseNo linked weights
Input modalitiesTextText, Image
First listed19 September 20243 June 2026
PublisherQwenQwen

Evidence: 2 public benchmark observations across 2 boards · 3 public benchmark observations across 3 boards. Prices are the lowest listed API offer per million tokens observed on the OpenRouter catalogue.

Benchmark scores: Qwen2.5 72B Instruct vs Qwen3.7 Plus

Public benchmark boards where Qwen2.5 72B Instruct or Qwen3.7 Plus has a published result
BoardQwen2.5 72B InstructQwen3.7 PlusLeads
Arena textArena (LMArena)13031299–1307Not reported14561451–1460Not reportedQwen3.7 Plus
Arena codingArena (LMArena)13551347–136215001494–1506Qwen3.7 Plus
LMArena AgentLMArena—-7.5%-9.0%–-5.9%Only one result

Scores are the sources' own published figures for each model's best evaluated configuration; ModelCap never re-runs a benchmark.

Want a different pairing? Open the interactive comparison tool to swap either model for any current ranked language model.

Qwen2.5 72B Instruct vs Qwen3.7 Plus: common questions

Is Qwen2.5 72B Instruct better than Qwen3.7 Plus?

Qwen3.7 Plus ranks higher on the ModelCap Index as of 6 November 2026: #36 against #249. That is a capability ranking built from public benchmark evidence with published uncertainty; whether it is "better" for you also depends on price, context and where you can run it. Their published uncertainty intervals do not overlap, but the aggregate Index does not predict performance on every task; compare the relevant benchmark configurations before choosing.

Is Qwen2.5 72B Instruct cheaper than Qwen3.7 Plus?

Qwen2.5 72B Instruct is cheaper on output tokens: $0.40/1M against $1.28/1M. Input tokens are $0.36/1M for Qwen2.5 72B Instruct and $0.32/1M for Qwen3.7 Plus. Prices are the lowest listed API offer ModelCap observed, in USD per million tokens. For 1,000 requests with 2,000 input and 500 output tokens each (2M input + 0.5M output), the listed-rate estimate is $0.92 for Qwen2.5 72B Instruct versus $1.28 for Qwen3.7 Plus. Qwen2.5 72B Instruct costs 28.1% less in this scenario. This excludes caching, batch discounts, prompt-length tiers, tool charges and retries; verify the selected endpoint before budgeting.

Which has the bigger context window, Qwen2.5 72B Instruct or Qwen3.7 Plus?

Qwen3.7 Plus has the larger context window: 1M tokens against 33K. OpenRouter catalogue or provider-endpoint declaration. Limits can vary by provider and prompt length; a model-wide maximum has not been independently verified.

Which is better for coding, Qwen2.5 72B Instruct or Qwen3.7 Plus?

Arena coding: Qwen2.5 72B Instruct 1355, Qwen3.7 Plus 1500 — Qwen3.7 Plus leads.

Are Qwen2.5 72B Instruct and Qwen3.7 Plus open-weight models?

Qwen2.5 72B Instruct: Restricted license. Qwen3.7 Plus: No linked weights. Open weights mean the checkpoint can be downloaded and self-hosted under its licence. A missing weight link does not identify every API or chat product that offers a model.

Where can I run Qwen2.5 72B Instruct and Qwen3.7 Plus?

ModelCap currently lists 1 API provider for Qwen2.5 72B Instruct and 1 for Qwen3.7 Plus, from the OpenRouter catalogue snapshot the site serves; each model page lists the providers and their prices.

How current is this Qwen2.5 72B Instruct vs Qwen3.7 Plus comparison?

Every figure and ModelCap Index position comes from the same published snapshot dated 6 November 2026. Publication and page updates happen separately; use the snapshot date shown on the page.

Explore further