Skip to content
ModelCap

Head-to-head comparison

Qwen2.5 72B Instruct vs Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct

Qwen2.5 72B Instruct (Qwen) and Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct (Qwen) compared on the ModelCap Index, API price, context window, provider availability, weight access and every public benchmark board they share. Figures are the same ones shown on the live rankings; nothing here is a hidden score.

Snapshot as of 6 November 2026

As of 6 November 2026, Qwen2.5 72B Instruct holds the stronger ModelCap Index position (#249 vs #278); Qwen2.5 72B Instruct is 2.5× cheaper per output token ($0.40/1M vs $1.00/1M); and Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct ships open weights.

Which should you choose?

Choose Qwen2.5 72B Instruct if…

  • you want the stronger overall ModelCap Index position — #249 against #278 (27.6 vs 22.4 points).
  • API cost matters — $0.40/1M output tokens against $1.00/1M, about 2.5× cheaper.
  • your workload is prompt-heavy — input tokens cost $0.36/1M against $0.66/1M.
  • Arena text is your yardstick — 1303 against 1271.
  • Arena coding is your yardstick — 1355 against 1342.

Choose Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct if…

  • you want to self-host: Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct ships open weights while Qwen2.5 72B Instruct is restricted license.
  • you want the more recently listed model — Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct was listed 11 November 2024, Qwen2.5 72B Instruct 19 September 2024.

Qwen2.5 72B Instruct vs Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct: specs, pricing and context

Specification comparison of Qwen2.5 72B Instruct and Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct
FieldQwen2.5 72B InstructQwenQwen2.5 Coder 32B InstructQwen
ModelCap Index position#249#278
Index score27.622.4
EvidenceMeasuredMeasured
Input price / 1M tokens$0.36$0.66
Output price / 1M tokens$0.40$1.00
Context window33K tokens33K tokens
Declared route output cap16K29K
API providers listed11
Weight accessRestricted licenseOpen weights
Input modalitiesTextText
First listed19 September 202411 November 2024
PublisherQwenQwen

Evidence: 2 public benchmark observations across 2 boards · 2 public benchmark observations across 2 boards. Prices are the lowest listed API offer per million tokens observed on the OpenRouter catalogue.

Benchmark scores: Qwen2.5 72B Instruct vs Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct

Public benchmark boards where Qwen2.5 72B Instruct or Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct has a published result
BoardQwen2.5 72B InstructQwen2.5 Coder 32B InstructLeads
Arena textArena (LMArena)13031299–1307Not reported12711262–1279Not reportedQwen2.5 72B Instruct
Arena codingArena (LMArena)13551347–136213421323–1360Qwen2.5 72B Instruct
SWE-benchSWE-bench (Princeton / SWE-agent team)—9.0%Only one result

Scores are the sources' own published figures for each model's best evaluated configuration; ModelCap never re-runs a benchmark.

Want a different pairing? Open the interactive comparison tool to swap either model for any current ranked language model.

Qwen2.5 72B Instruct vs Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct: common questions

Is Qwen2.5 72B Instruct better than Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct?

Qwen2.5 72B Instruct ranks higher on the ModelCap Index as of 6 November 2026: #249 against #278. That is a capability ranking built from public benchmark evidence with published uncertainty; whether it is "better" for you also depends on price, context and where you can run it. Their published uncertainty intervals overlap, so the rank difference alone does not establish a reliable capability advantage for your workload.

Is Qwen2.5 72B Instruct cheaper than Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct?

Qwen2.5 72B Instruct is cheaper on output tokens: $0.40/1M against $1.00/1M. Input tokens are $0.36/1M for Qwen2.5 72B Instruct and $0.66/1M for Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct. Prices are the lowest listed API offer ModelCap observed, in USD per million tokens. For 1,000 requests with 2,000 input and 500 output tokens each (2M input + 0.5M output), the listed-rate estimate is $0.92 for Qwen2.5 72B Instruct versus $1.82 for Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct. Qwen2.5 72B Instruct costs 49.5% less in this scenario. This excludes caching, batch discounts, prompt-length tiers, tool charges and retries; verify the selected endpoint before budgeting.

Which has the bigger context window, Qwen2.5 72B Instruct or Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct?

Both publish a 33K-token context window. OpenRouter catalogue or provider-endpoint declaration. Limits can vary by provider and prompt length; a model-wide maximum has not been independently verified.

Which is better for coding, Qwen2.5 72B Instruct or Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct?

Arena coding: Qwen2.5 72B Instruct 1355, Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct 1342 — Qwen2.5 72B Instruct leads.

Are Qwen2.5 72B Instruct and Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct open-weight models?

Qwen2.5 72B Instruct: Restricted license. Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct: Open weights. Open weights mean the checkpoint can be downloaded and self-hosted under its licence. A missing weight link does not identify every API or chat product that offers a model.

Where can I run Qwen2.5 72B Instruct and Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct?

ModelCap currently lists 1 API provider for Qwen2.5 72B Instruct and 1 for Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct, from the OpenRouter catalogue snapshot the site serves; each model page lists the providers and their prices.

How current is this Qwen2.5 72B Instruct vs Qwen2.5 Coder 32B Instruct comparison?

Every figure and ModelCap Index position comes from the same published snapshot dated 6 November 2026. Publication and page updates happen separately; use the snapshot date shown on the page.

Explore further